Review – But What if We’re Wrong?

One Aardvark

There are a handful of nonfiction books I’ve read that will always stand out–head and shoulders–above the rest. The criteria I use when judging a nonfiction book are as follows:

  1. The quality of the writing.
  2. The complexity/ingenuity of the idea behind the book.
  3. The clarity with which said complexity/ingenuity is conveyed.
  4. How badly I want to read the book while in the process of reading it.
  5. How long I think about the book after reading it.
  6. Whether or not it holds my attention cover to cover.
  7. How often I find myself referencing the book in every day conversation with people who probably don’t give any semblance of a shit.

With these categories in mind, I Am Sorry to Think I Have Raised a Timid Son stands out as a nonpareil. 10/10 across the board. If Kent Russell were an Olympic diver, all spectators would pause in awe at his elegance…

View original post 1,425 more words

Leave a Reply

