Last Lines from “La Fraisne” by Ezra Pound

Ezra_Pound_La_Fraisne

Once when I was among the young men . . .
And they said I was quite strong, among the young men.
Once there was a woman . . .
. . . but I forget . . . she was . . .
. . . I hope she will not come again.

. . . I do not remember . . .
I think she hurt me once, but . . .
That was very long ago.

I do not like to remember things any more.

I like one little band of winds that blow
In the ash trees here:
For we are quite alone,
Here ‘mid the ash trees.

 
–Ezra Pound, from “La Fraisne”, The New Poetry: An Anthology (1917).
Edited by Harriet Monroe & Alice Corbin Henderson.

 
 

Leave a Reply

